Alex McArthur – Monday artist of the day

Only 3 weeks until the big day! So today we have Alex McArthur:

???????????????????????????????

??????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????

Alex works with monoprint and says “I love to work to music and allow it create the mood and development of the work. I add layers of colour sometimes making torn or cut stencils as I go. Although painting is the main medium I work in this printing process provides a framework for my spontaneity. I love this painterly form of printmaking that always throws up surprises in colour, form and texture. My monoprints also provide ideas and starting points for larger paintings. I make small collections and call them my ‘song cycles’. They are usually abstract compositions, sometimes landscape and my influences include abstract  expressionism and contemporary painters such as Ian McKeever and Michael Porter.”

Find more at: https://www.facebook.com/zinniagallery

Leave a Reply

