Thursday artist of the day: Cath Brooke

Thursday’s artist is Cath Brooke:

cath brooke sahaviriya III

cath brooke barmoor II

Cath predominantly works in drypoint, monoprint and collograph, often combining the techniques together.

Cath says about her work: “Rural and urban landscapes provide the starting point for my prints. I sketch in all weathers and the elements play a large part in defining the spirit of my work. I like to include buildings in my work, to give a sense of history and place; a human connection to the landscape and spaces around us. I am increasingly interested in industrial spaces. Industries that are part of our heritage and buildings that have had a variety of uses from industry to city living. Many of my images are taken from urban landscapes that have been neglected and left to decay. Once stunning buildings that have come to the end of their useful life.

I am also interested in composition and creating a balance between what I have seen and sketched and the natural rhythms of lines and tones across the printed surface. The original image may change as the process of print-making takes over and my concerns turn to mark-making, balance, composition, mood and movement within each piece.”

Cath is a member of Inkers printmakers and Leeds Fine Artists. Find more of her work here: www.cathbrooke.co.uk

Leave a Reply

